Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for November 8th, 2011

The Court decided to give me a break last Thursday, which allowed me to take Friday off to make it a super long weekend.

waiting for ramen

So on Friday, we dropped Peanut off at school, then took Lion for his MMR jab at the paede’s. After, we dropped Lion off at my parents and went to the movies! We had ramen at Ippudo and saw Ryan Gosling in Drive (which was really really good). We then dropped by H&M to check out what the fuss is about (blah), dropped by The Other Half’s shop, then picked the kids up to spend the evening with their paternal grandmother, who very kindly took care of the kids while I passed out on the sofa.

On Saturday, we woke up to an overcast sky and thought that we might give swimming a miss and head to the zoo instead. So I started the preparations to make fried rice to take to the zoo when my mother called and summoned us to my cousin’s place for a swim because Sis2 is back in town and wanted to go wading with the kids. Fried rice was therefore postponed and off we went to the pool (and the sun came out!) and then extended conversation with cousin and his family thereafter, before heading home to continue with the fried rice, put the kids to nap, and head out to dinner with their paternal grandmother and aunt. After putting the kids to bed, I made a chocolate orange cake to take to lunch the next day before going to bed.

expert milk-drinker

On Sunday, we took the kids to the hairdresser’s before crashing Elmi’s family lunch with the chocolate cake. Dinner was with my family as an early celebration for my mother’s birthday (today). Before dinner, we did a quick dash to the supermarket to pick up things to put together a cake for my mother. We headed home after dinner to put the kids to bed so that I can start up my mother’s birthday cake [an eggless chocolate cake from a recipe I’ve never tried, substituting the 2 cups of hot water with hot milk and 2 tablespoons of distilled white vinegar with balsamic vinegar]. The cakes, unfortunately, did not turn out as I had hoped, but I was too tired and just headed to bed to meditate on it for a bit.

expert bowl-cleaner

I woke up at 6am on public holiday Monday and proceeded to put the balsamic strawberry jam I needed for my mother’s birthday cake to boil while I attempted a whole new cake with a modified recipe [2 cups of hot coffee instead of 2 cups of hot water / hot milk]. The results were much better. Then I made pancakes for the kids and The Other Half for breakfast, cool the jam, and we all left for the Mickey Mouse show at Marina Bay Sands [where Peanut earnestly watched the show and asked questions while Lion bobbed and clapped, then fell asleep halfway].

We lunched out, headed home [attempted] to put the kids to nap [but failed because Peanut refused to nap], then I beat up the fresh cream and started to put the cake together. It’s pretty, I supposed, from afar. My icing skills still suck, but according to The Other Half, are vastly improved than say 3 years ago. Peanut happily cleaned my bowls out.

We were supposed to eat dinner with Becky but then she couldn’t make it. We decided to spend another quiet evening with the paternal grandmother but she banned us from going to her place because her immediate neighbour passed away. We looked at each other, rolled our eyes, and decided to head to the Night Safari. We had an enjoyable dinner at the restaurant next to some goats (?) then a nice walk through the park with the kids.

Given my action-packed weekend, it is little wonder that I forgot to take my laptop to work [having taken it home and wrote two advices in between all of the crazy activity] this morning, as a result of which, I arrived at work twice in two hours this morning.

Oh well. It was a nice break before my crazy schedule takes over again in the next two weeks.

Read Full Post »